Zimmerman Wins 2010 Jefferson Award for Service

Posted by Cheryl Nichols | 11/23/2009 06:55:00 PM | , | 0 comments »

Congratulations to Ryan Zimmerman!

Photo © 2009 Cheryl Nichols. All Rights Reserved

Ryan Zimmerman is the recipient of a 2010 Jefferson Award for Public Service  which recognizes the top athletes who have given back to their community.

The 10 "Dream Team For Public Service" winners (among 53 nominees) were selected by the prestigious Jefferson Award board and public voting:

Nnamdi Asomugha (Lafayette, LA.), defensive back, Oakland Raiders, NFL
Curtis Granderson (Chicago), all-star outfielder Detroit Tigers, MLB
Stuart Holden (Houston), forward, Houston Dynamo, MLS
Dwight Howard (Orlando, FL), all-star forward, Orlando Magic, NBA
Dirk Nowitzki (Wurzburg, Germany), all-star forward, Dallas Mavericks, NBA
Tyrus Thomas (Baton Rouge, LA), forward, Chicago Bulls, NBA
Justin Tuck (Coosa County, AL) all-pro defensive end, New York Giants, NFL
Lauryn Williams (Rochester, PA), Olympian and World Champion sprinter
Venus Williams (Palm Beach Gardens, FL), Olympian and Grand Slam champion, WTA
Ryan Zimmerman (Washington, NC) all-star third baseman, Washington Nationals, MLB

In addition, two top winners will be honored at the national Jefferson Awards ceremony June 22nd in Washington, D.C. Past Jefferson Awards winners include four Supreme Court Justices, seven Secretaries of State; as well as Oprah Winfrey, Alan Greenspan, Peyton Manning, Colin Powell, Lance Armstrong, Barbara Bush and Bill and Melinda Gates.

Zimmerman won the Heart & Hustle Award in Aug.
Photo © 2009 Cheryl Nichols. All Rights Reserved

Click here to see the full press release.